flowing motion

The deep challenge to positive psychology: war

Posted on: May 1, 2008

Can and does positive psychology help us with the tragic and terrible events in life?

Positive psychologists focus on the positive and they raise two issues in mind:

  • How much use is positive psychology when life if really dreadful?
  • And aren’t we being rather patronizing to people in the midst of tragedy and despair?

I wonder what other positive psychologists would say.

Look at tragedy & despair squarely but not necessarily in the eye

I would say that we need to look at tragedy and despair squarely but not necessarily in the eye.

Be worldly

To use the analogy of wild animals, some animals become more aggressive if we stare them in the eye, but most will attack if we lose eye contact!  Worldliness is important and we need to understand the menace that faces us.

Have compassion for yourself and your journey

But there is a season for everything, and to continue the analogy, whatever drew us to the bush in the first place, has brought us to this predicament. We need to understand our predicament, and even appreciate it, within the context of our wider lives, within the journey that brought us to this place and will take us on to other places.

Poetry in dark times

It is so much more easily said than done.

In dark times, we value our poets as much if not more than we do in bright times. They mirror what we are feeling – our despair and fear – against a backdrop of our hopes and dreams.

Poetry from Zimbabwe in the dark days after the 2008 election

This poem is from Zimbabwe which you may know is in deep peril as they wait for long delayed election results to be announced. April has been a long month of waiting for them.

The poet is Comrade Fatso, a local musician, who has his own website and blog. I don’t have his permission to use his poem here. I hope he doesn’t mind. I hope, too, you visit his blog and leave a kind word. Or go to his website and listen to his music (it is for sale!)

Street fillers

The streets are empty.

The state has retreated.

So has the opposition.

All we are left with

are their torn posters,

pasted over each other

in a confusing collage of symbols and slogans.

We also have their space-fillers.

Riot police

aimlessly

walk the streets,

batons in belts

like forgotten cellphones.

Or sometimes

unconsciously

swung in the air

like a stick-picked-up-on-a-path.

They walk the streets

like the thousands

of unemployed H-town youths.

Space-fillers.

Like the pothole-filling youths

who have taken over the suburban streets.

Stopping traffic,

asking for donations,

filling potholes.

Unhindered.


The state has gone back to the drawing board.

The opposition has stayed away from its stay-away.

Its re-count and re-plan time.

And all we have are their space-fillers.

20 Responses to "The deep challenge to positive psychology: war"

[…] The big even In Harare this May was waiting for the Presidential results to be announced. While Zimbabweans were waiting-and-waiting, and while the most horrible violence escalated, artists went ahead and held their annual Harare International Festival of Arts, with a catchy title, the Art of Determination. Pithy puns, in the midst of despair, and art that is timeless. […]

Positive psychology isn’t just about always being happy or all sugar plums. It is first of all a willingness to study the positive side of human behavior. Psychology traditionally only studied problems.

War is definitely not the POSITIVE side of human nature. Yet, side by side with war (term from Barbara Fredrickson Ph.D.) are those who take risks and reach out to save others, those who build coalitions they’d never have considered before, those who share and take care of each other. From every crisis we hear — if we look for them — stories of heroism, positive humanity and can be inspired. That is what positive psychology is about.

Have you been in a war situation, Joan?

You can update your software as the new features take birth.

When playing minecraft you have a taste of living through a malicious setting.
If you only leave one dark enough space on your base, they
will keep appearing there until you add another torch, or leave the area.

I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
Did you create this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for
you? Plz respond as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to find
out where u got this from. many thanks

This design is incredible! You definitely know how to keep a reader amused.
Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!)
Wonderful job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that,
how you presented it. Too cool!

I used to be suggested this website via my cousin. I’m now not sure whether or not
this publish is written by him as no one else recognize such distinctive approximately
my trouble. You are incredible! Thanks!

I know this if off topic but I’m looking into
starting my own weblog and was wondering what all is needed to get set up?

I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% sure. Any recommendations
or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

I blog often and I truly appreciate your information. This article has really peaked my interest.
I will take a note of your site and keep checking for new information about
once per week. I opted in for your RSS feed too.

Really no matter if someone doesn’t be aware of then its
up to other viewers that they will help, so here it occurs.

Good day I am so excited I found your weblog, I really found you by mistake, while I was searching on Yahoo for something else, Nonetheless I am here now
and would just like to say cheers for a incredible post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time
to read through it all at the minute but I have book-marked
it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot
more, Please do keep up the great b.

Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the net
the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while people
think about worries that they just do not know about. You managed
to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people could take a
signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

I know this web page presents quality depending content and extra information, is there any other website
which presents these stuff in quality?

Hey there! This is my first visit to your blog!
We are a group of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same
niche. Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on. You have done a marvellous job!

Currently it appears like WordPress is the best blogging platform available right now.
(from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using on your blog?

It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to this excellent blog!

I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
I look forward to brand new updates and will share this blog with my Facebook group.
Chat soon!

Excellent post. I used to be checking continuously this weblog and
I am impressed! Very useful information specially the remaining part
🙂 I handle such info much. I was looking for this certain information for a
long time. Thanks and good luck.

I have learn a few just right stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting.
I wonder how a lot effort you place to create the sort of
great informative site.

What’s up every one, here every one is sharing these kinds of familiarity, thus it’s nice to read this web site, and I used to pay a quick visit
this web site all the time.

This article will assist the internet visitors for building up new web site or even a
blog from start to end.

Leave a Reply

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Categories

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Last Twitter

  • RT @OpenSocietyJobs: OSF's Human Rights Initiative currently seeks a fixed term Program Officer for 18 months to help advance the portf… ht… 1 day ago
Creative Commons License
All work on this blog is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.
